Traffic Tickets Main
Choose A Question from the list on the right

Basics

What are my options if I received a traffic ticket?

You may pay the penalty. Points will be assessed against your license when applicable.

You may attend a defensive driving course. Points will not be assessed against your license. Note that this option does not apply to tag, registration, driver license or PIP insurance violations.

You may plead not guilty and request a court hearing. You may submit this request either in person or by mail. You will receive notice of your hearing date, time, and location within six to eight weeks at the address listed on the citation.

Does my county accept online payment?

Most counties currently accept online payments. Here's a convenient list of participating counties.

When do I have to pay my traffic ticket?

You must pay within 30 days of the date that the citation was issued. Failure to pay your ticket will result in the suspension of your driver license and additional late fees.

Will a ticket I received in Florida affect my out of state driver license?

Yes. Tickets issued in Florida will be reported to other states.

What citations can be dismissed?

The following citations can be dismissed: violation of (a) driver license, (b) registration, or (c) PIP insurance. To have these violations dismissed, simply provide proof that you had valid documents when the citation was issued, to the County in which the citation was issued.

What is the telephone number for my Clerk of Court?

Here is a convenient list of numbers to help you find your local Clerk of Court.

How can I obtain a copy of my driving record?

You may obtain a copy of your driving record at any Clerk of Court's office. You can also find this information online at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Online Payment

What citations cannot be paid online?

The following citations cannot be paid online: violation of (a) driver license, (b) tag, or (c) insurance. You must either visit the Clerk of Court's office in the county where the citation was issued or mail in your proof of compliance.

Will there be any additional charges if I pay online?

There is a $5 fee for each payment order. These fees cover the cost of processing your payment by electronic check through MyFloridaRemit.com. The Clerk of Court who receives the payment does not receive any of these fees.

PLEASE NOTE: Payments made online are AUTOMATICALLY sent for disbursement to recipients and MAY NOT BE CANCELLED OR REFUNDED by MyFloridaRemit.com. Payments submitted by 3:00 p.m. EST will be processed within 2 business days following receipt.

Can my payment be refunded?

No. Payments made online are sent automatically and cannot be canceled or refunded.

How long will it take for my payment to be processed?

Payments are processed within 2 business days of receipt.

How can I obtain confirmation of my payment?

You will receive instant confirmation after completing the payment process. You will also receive a confirmation email. Either of these forms of confirmation may be printed.

What should I do if my ticket is not in the system?

Although your case does not appear in the system, you are still responsible for paying the citation within 30 days. You can pay your citation by mail or in person at the Clerk of Court's office where the citation was issued.

What if I want to use a credit or debit card?

If you wish to use a credit or debit card to make your payment, click here to see more options.

Points & Violations

What happens if I accumulate too many points on my license?

If you accumulate too many points your driver license may be revoked. For more details you can visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

How many points will be assessed against my driver license?

Here's a convenient table listing types of citations and the points assessed for each violation.

What if I was charged with "Improper or Unsafe Equipment"?

You may receive a reduced penalty on these violations if you repair the defect within 30 days of the issue date. Send written proof within 30 days that the defect has been corrected. A civil penalty may be required. The statute requires you to obtain an Affidavit of Compliance from the law enforcement agency that issued the citation.

What if I received a ticket for failing to pay a toll even though I have an active SunPass?

If the ticket was issued from any toll plaza on Florida's Turnpike (State Road 821), you should contact SunPass at 1-888-865-5352. If the ticket was issued from any other toll plaza in Miami-Dade County (not on Florida's Turnpike), you should contact the Miami-Dade Expressway Authority at 305-639-6008.

How can I obtain information on parking violations?

For information on parking violations call the Clerk of Court's office where the citation was issued. Here is a convenient list of numbers to help you find your local Clerk of Court.

Where can I reinstate my driver license?

If you license was suspended because you failed to pay a citation, you may reinstate your driver license at the Clerk of Court's office where the citation was issued or at any Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles location. If your license was suspended for some other reason, you will need to contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Note that your license will not be reinstated until all citations have been paid.

Can I change my trial location?

No. You cannot change your trial location. Trial locations are set according to the issuing police officer's work schedule and area of patrol.

How do I change my address if I have a pending case and I now have a different address?

Please contact the Clerk of Courts in the county where the case was issued and supply them with the following information: name, case number, driver license number and your new address.

What if I have received notice of a ticket that I never received?

If you believe you have a received a ticket mistakenly, contact the Clerk of Court's office where the citation was issued. Here is a convenient list of numbers to help you find your local Clerk of Court.

Traffic School

How long do I have to complete traffic school?

The Clerk of Court's office where the citation was issued sets the deadline for completing traffic school. Here is a convenient list of numbers to help you find your local Clerk of Court.

Can I attend traffic school in a different county than where I received my citation?

Yes. You may attend traffic school in any county within the state of Florida. But the Clerk of Court of Courts must receive certification of completion. If you choose to attend traffic school in a different county, you are responsible for mailing this certificate to Clerk of Court's where the citation was issued.

Can I attend traffic school online?

Yes. You may attend traffic school online. But the Clerk of Court must receive certification of completion. If you choose to attend traffic school online, you are responsible form mailing this certificate to the Clerk of Court where the citation was issued.

When should I attend a traffic school course?

You should only consider attending a traffic school course if your violation carries points against your driver license. Here's a convenient table listing types of citations and the points assessed for each violation.

What if the court ordered that I attend school?

If the court ordered you to attend traffic school, you must complete the course to avoid the suspension of your driver license. Because this attendance is mandatory, you may still elect to attend traffic school within the same year.

What if I don’t remember whether I have elected traffic school before?

You can find this information on your driving record. You may obtain a copy of your driving record at any Clerk of Court's office or online at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Where can I find a list of traffic schools?

Here's a list of qualified traffic schools. To schedule a class simply contact the school you wish to attend.

Do I have to attend driving school?

No. However paying your citation without school election is an admission of guilt and points will be assessed on your driver license.

What if I forgot to attend traffic school?

If you fail to attend traffic school you will be subject to a license suspension, point assessment, and additional fees.

What are the benefits of attending traffic school?

If you attend traffic school you will (a) avoid accumulating points on your license, (b) keep your record free from convictions, and (c) prevent your insurance rates from increasing.

How many times can I attend traffic school?

You are eligible to elect a 4-hour course once every 12 months, for a maximum of 5 times in a lifetime. If you are not eligible for the 4-hour course, you may request an 8-hour course only once in your lifetime.

Can I still decide to attend court or traffic school after I have paid my ticket?

The Clerk of Court where your ticket was issued will decide if you may change your school election or attend court once you have paid your ticket. Please contact the Clerk of Court's office for more details. Here is a convenient list of numbers to help you find your local Clerk of Court.

Find Your Clerk

Select your county to find the number for your clerk.

Don’t know your county?